Consuming Meat that is not Slaughtered Islamically
  • Question:

    Is it allowed to consume meat that is not halal in a situation (being other choice which I doubt may cause vomiting after having) where there is no other go, if yes then how?


    Assalamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh

    Thank you for your question.

    Your question about Islamically permissible meats is admirable.

    In the religion of Islam, a Muslim is only permitted to consume either halal slaughtered meats or meats slaughtered by the people of the book, meaning Jews and Christians. If such meats are not accessible, a practicing Muslim resorts to fish and or fruits and vegetables and their by-products.

    “Eat whatever on the earth is lawful and good, and do not follow the footsteps of Satan. Indeed, he is a clear enemy to you.” (2: 168)

    “So eat of that [meat] upon which Allah’s name has been taken, if you are believers in His verses.” (6: 118)

    “And do not eat of that [meat] upon which Allah’s name has not been taken, for indeed, it is a grave sin.” (6: 121)

    “…the food of those who were given the Scripture is lawful for you and your food is lawful for them,” [5:5]

    And Allah knows best.

    Answered by Shaykh Yusuf Badat
    Hadith of the Day Imam
    Imam of the Islamic Foundation of Toronto and Director of Mathabah Institute
Earn Amazing Reward
Join HOTD Love HOTD Meet the HOTD Imams Ask a Question

Asalaam Alaykum!

If you want to ask the HOTD Imam a question please click Ask a Question