Are Doritos Nacho Chips Halal?
  • Question:

    Are Doritos Nacho Cheese flavoured tortilla chips halal? Please advise.

    Assalamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh

    Thank you for your question. May Allah bless you for your concern for halal consumption.

    In response to your concern, I contacted the Frito Lay Canada company by phone and spoke at length with the customer service representative. She stated that the cheese and whey in the 'Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavoured Tortilla Chips' are made from animal by products, namely beef and pork.

    In accordance to the above information provided by the company, the 'Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavoured Tortilla Chips' will not be suitable for Muslim consumption. The product is haram (non halal/ prohibited) as per Islamic dietary laws.
    The consumption of pork, non zabiha meats and their by products are strictly prohibited in Islam.

    “So eat of that (meat) upon which Allah's name has been mentioned, if you are believers in His verses” (Holy Quran 6:118)
    "He has forbidden you only the Maitah (dead animals), and blood, and the flesh of swine, and that which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allah (or has been slaughtered for idols, on which Allah's Name has not been mentioned while slaughtering). But if one is forced by necessity without wilful disobedience nor transgressing due limits, then there is no sin on him. Truly, Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful" (Holy Quran 2:173)

    Jabir RA reported, “Allah's Messenger PBUH said: “That flesh will not enter Paradise which has grown from Haram, and all that flesh which has grown from Haram, the fire (of hell) is more worthy of it." (Ahmed, Darimi, Baihaqi)

    And Allah knows best.

    Answered by Shaykh Yusuf Badat
    Hadith of the Day Imam
    Imam of the Islamic Foundation of Toronto and Director of Mathabah institute
Earn Amazing Reward
Join HOTD Love HOTD Meet the HOTD Imams Ask a Question

Asalaam Alaykum!

If you want to ask the HOTD Imam a question please click Ask a Question